ViPR

 I’ve been loving the newest class at my gym, ViPR. If you haven’t tried it yet, you should! Pronounced “viper”, the letters are an acronym for Vitality, Performance and Reconditioning. 

What does it involve?

It’s a pretty basic piece of equipment, a rubber tube with a series of handholds. They are available in different weights. 

Ok, tell me more.

The class I go to is just 30 minutes long, and – set to an awesome soundtrack – you perform a series of playful moves (squats, jump jacks, upper cuts, sit-ups, lunges…) all of which are loaded with strength training. 

This is perfect for me as I find static weights very dull and often skip them prefering a cardio class which flows. The fun choreographed sequence is a challenge, gets me sweating and gave this blog it’s name – Legs On Fire (in a really good way!)

So, what’s the big deal? 

I’ve been using my Fitbit to track my workouts. Here’s today’s class data:   

  
Now here’s the really interesting bit. On Saturday I did 2 classes back to back. Look at how the heart rate time bar changes after the first class: 

  
I’d love to understand more about how the exercise affects my body. 
Heading picture courtesy of https://www.finishfit.com/

Leave a Reply

