Coconut energy balls

Saturday mornings are my favourite. I do four of my favourite classes at the gym, back to back. My body does need refuelling though, and I’ve taken to making some natural raw sweets to take along as they are really convenient- lots of power in a bite, and no smelly banana skin to dispose of.

You can buy ready made energy balls like Bounce, but they are also pretty simple to make (and a lot cheaper!) I wrap them up in a bit of greaseproof paper, and pop one in my gym bag when I know I’m going to be in need of a pick-me-up. They seem to last ages (like, several weeks!) in the fridge without spoiling. They can also be frozen.

Here’s my recipe: (makes 12)

  • 1/3 cup cashew nuts
  • 1 cup oats
  • 10 dates
  • 1/4 cup dried coconut flakes
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil

I don’t have a food processor so I used my #nutribullet to powder the nuts and oats. I used a mini chopper to process the dates and coconut oil, then added the rest of the ingredients. I added a dribble of water to make the mixture come together. 

When I got the right consistency, I rolled the mixture into small, bite-size balls in my hands before finishing by rolling in a further 1/4 cup coconut. I put them in a airtight container in the fridge to set.

Nutritional* information:

I was pleased to discover that my recipe is lower calorie than the shop bought versions. They also contain some beneficial macronutrients which I struggle to get enough of in my diet.

Per 1 ball:

  • Calories 141
  • Fat 4.4g
  • Potassium 217mg
  • Fibre 3.3g
  • Protein 2.9g
  • Calcium 2.1 % RDA
  • Iron 5.3% RDA

*according to MyFitnessPal

Leave a Reply

